Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Julie Holladay

Holladay reappointed to Cotton Board post

Former Dawson County resident Julie Holladay is among eight individuals recently re-appointed to the Cotton Board by Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue. Perdue also announced the appointment of eight alternate members and two advisors to serve on the board. Re-appointed members are: Adam S. Hatley, Mesa, Ariz. Rajiv Malik, Tiburon, Calif. George T. Warbington, Vienna, Ga. Sonja Chapman, Boon-ton, N.J. Crystal A. Button, Great Neck, N.Y. Julie Davis Holladay, Lubbock, Texas Randy Braden, Midland, Texas Jeffery T. Posey, Roby, Texas Re-appointed alternate members are: Jaclyn Dixon Ford, Alapaha, Ga. Douglas P. Guiley, New York, N.Y. Newly appointed alternate members are: Ava L. Alcaida, Parker, Ariz. Patricia R. Lesser, Kent-field, Calif. Charles F. Sheppard, Indian Rocks, Fla. Steven D. Olson, Plainview, Texas Jason S. French, Snyder, Texas Brett J. Schniers, Wall, Texas The appointed advisors are Gregory L. Bridgeforth, Athens, Ala., and incumbent Karen E. Kyllo, Henderson, Nev. All appointees will serve 3-year terms ending Dec. 31, 2021. “The Cotton Board carries out research and promotional activities that help cotton compete in domestic and foreign markets, improve fiber quality and lower production costs,” said Perdue. “I want to thank these board members for the time and effort they have committed to serving the cotton industry.” The Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966 (Act) authorized a national cotton research and promotion program that is both industry-operated and funded. Industry-funded research and promotion board provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight.

Lamesa Press-Reporter

P.O. Box 710
Lamesa, TX 79331